Monkeypox and Orthopoxvirus Mini-Symposium

Published on 2022-09-07 00:00:00

Monkeypox and Orthopoxvirus Mini-Symposium

Discussion of bioinformatic resources and tools available and in development for the purpose of studying monkeypox virus. Will also include a brief primer on monkeypox virus, as well as research presentations focusing on the recent outbreak.

Event Information

Registration: Click Here

Date: September 15, 2022

Time: 7 AM – 11:30 AM Pacific, 10 AM – 2 PM:30 Eastern , 4 PM – 8:30 PM CET

Scope: Discussion of bioinformatic resources and tools available and in development for the purpose of studying monkeypox virus. Will also include a brief primer on monkeypox virus, as well as research presentations focusing on the recent outbreak.

Audience: Bioinformaticians, public health practitioners, bench scientists in the field of Monkeypox or poxvirus research

Downloadable PDF of the eventClick Here

Confirmed Speakers and Tentative Agenda

(subject to change)

10:00 EDT / 16:00 CET
Introduction and Welcome
Richard Scheuermann & Anna Maria Niewiadomska
BV-BRC & J. Craig Venter Institute

10:05 EDT / 16:05 CET
Monkeypox virus primer
Paula Traktman
Medical University of South Carolina

10:20 EDT / 16:20 CET
Phylogenomic characterization and signs of microevolution
in the 2022 multi-country outbreak of monkeypox virusClick Here to visit
Vitor Borges
National Institute of Health - Portugal

10:35 EDT / 16:35 CET
Monkeypox virus sequencing in the 2022 outbreak reveals
multiple independent lineages and unique mutational signaturesClick here to visit
Crystal Gigante
CDC/DDID/NCEZID/DHCPP

10:50 EDT / 16:50 CET
A distinct phylogenetic cluster of Monkeypox genomes
suggests an early and cryptic spread of the virusClick here to visit
Bani Jolly
CSIR-IGIB, New Delhi, India

11:05 EDT / 17:05 CET
Genetic variability, including gene duplication and deletion,
in early sequences from the 2022 global monkeypox outbreakClick here to visit
Terry Jones
Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin

11:20 EDT / 17:20 CET
Nextclade, Nextstrain and New Monkeypox Sublineages
Emma Hodcroft & Cornelius Roemer
Nextstrain

11:35 EDT / 17:35 CET
Detection of monkeypox viral DNA in a routine wastewater monitoringClick here to visit
Marlene Wolfe
Emory University

11:50 EDT / 17:50 CET
Monkeypox virus whole genome sequencing using combination of
NextGenPCR and Oxford NanoporeClick here to visit
Matthijs Welkers
Amsterdam UMC, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

12:05 EDT / 18:05 CET
Break

12:15 EDT / 18:15 CET
Amplicon-based sequencing of human monkeypox virusClick here to visit
Chantal Vogels
Yale School of Public Health

12:30 EDT / 18:30 CET
Applying the COVID-19 Lessons Learned to Other
Pathogens of Public Health Concern
Kevin Libuit

12:45 EDT / 18:45 CET
International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses: ICTVClick here to visit
ictv.global
Elliot Lefkowitz
University of Alabama Birmingham

13:00 EDT / 19:00 CET
Monkeypox/Orthopox data and tools in NCBI VirusClick here to visit
ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/labs/virus/vssi
Eneida Hatcher
NIH/NLM/NCBI

13:15 EDT / 19:15 CET
Monkeypox/Orthopox data and tools in the Bacterial and Viral
Bioinformatics Resource Center (BV-BRC)Click here to visit
Anna Maria Niewiadomska
J. Craig Venter Institute

13:30 EDT / 19:30 CET
Viral Bioinformatics Research Center: Bioinformatics for
Poxviruses - 4virology.netClick here to visit
Rachel Roper
East Carolina University

13:45 EDT / 19:45 CET
Advanced Genomic Sequencing for H2H Transmission
Analysis of Poxvirus
Gustavo Palacios
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

14:00 EDT / 20:00 CET
Plumbing a Monkeypox virus genome sequence assembly,
annotation, and public database submission pipeline
Michael Weigand
CDC/DDID/NCIRD/DBD

14:15 EDT / 20:15 CET
Diagnostic assays (PCR and POC) for monkeypox
Christina Hutson
CDC/DDID/NCEZID/DHCPP

14:30 EDT / 20:30 CET
Maximilian Haeussler
UCSC

14:30 EDT / 20:30 CET
End